Fred Avolio's Musings

iChat Status

musings on security and other topics topics archives
August
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
   
21
   
most recent headlines other links, other blogs  

Mon, 21 Aug 2006
E-Cards

You've gotten them, right? Electronic birthday cards, greeting cards, etc.? You ever get one from someone you didn't know? Every one wants a secret admirer, no?

I received two within a week, so it reminded me to remind friends and family members that you should treat electronic cards as you do any e-mail with an actual attachment. That is to say, "with caution." ("With extreme caution, if you don't know the sender.) Here's why.

Message #1 was this:

From: "Found D. Tyree"
Dear recipient.
Sender at Michelle sent you an "e-card" "Here's the Rub" from 'greeting-cards'. To see your card, click here

This "ecard" will be stored for one week, so print or save the card as soon as possible.
Hope you enjoy our "e-cards". Spread the love and send one of our "e-cards". Brought to you by 'greeting cards' - a better way to greet.

Seems benign. Anyone else bothered by the strange mismatch between the full name and the mail address? "Click here was linked to a web site. I won't give you the URL (because you night click on it). What happens when you do? I don't know. All I know is this. 1) I don't know a Michelle who' send me a card. 2) the "top level" of the URL pointed to a web site that was under construction. The top level had text that read, "Welcome to the home of [the top level domain name]. To change this page, upload your website into the public_html directory. Date Created: Sat Aug 5 12:36:14 2006."

That was 4 days before I got the e-mail. Badguy sets up a web page. Badguy puts a trojan attack on a web page targeted at a particular operating system. Badguy uses spammer techniques to seed the world and waits.

Message #2 was this:

From: greeting@all-yours.net
Subject: You just recieved a E-Greeting.

Hello ,

A Greeting Card is waiting for you at our virtual post office! You can pick up your postcard at the following web address:

http://www.all-yours.net/u/view.php?id=a0190313376667 visit E-Greetings at http://www.all-yours.net/ and enter your pickup code, which is: a0190313376667

(Your postcard will be available for 60 days.)

This is how I received it, mispelled words and funny punctuation (space before the comma after "Hello," and all). That URL actually pointed to a different URL at a different host and the URL ended in ".jpg.exe". Not good. Not good at all.

There was no indication as to who it was really from. And I check URLs. Do you? It's a good habit to get into.

Look three times before you "click".

  1. Does the letter look like it was created by an automated process on a real, in-the-business, e-greeting card company, or does it look like it was quickly generated by someone who has English as a second language?
  2. Do you know the sender? Really?
  3. Do the collars and cuffs match? I mean, does the URL link name and the actual link match?

Comment on this.
[/security/] permanent link